Guest Reviews

We’re delighted to hear such lovely comments from all our guests…

“Just Fabulous”

July 2020

Food just lovely! Plenty of different options for breakfast. Croissant with smoked salmon and scrambled egg was one of my favourites although I had something different each of the 5 days I stayed. Beautiful setting, Loved the view of the mountain and gardens from our balcony (room 17 Grasmere). Saw a red squirrel and deer in the gardens whilst having breakfast. When it rained we sat under the heaters next to the spa and read. So relaxing. Staff were all amazing and couldn’t do enough for you! A special treat for our anniversary brought me to tears! We did numerous walks from the door and didn’t move the car for 6 days! Due to COVID the room wasn’t cleaned which we didn’t mind because it kept us safer, but instead we got everything replaced that we asked for, Staff wore visors/face masks and full routines in place.

“Fabulous”

July 2020

We have just returned home after 3 nights to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel had only just reopened following lockdown and we were some of the first guests through the door. The welcome was warm and friendly and first impressions were positive. We had a beautiful room with two balconies and the views were incredible. The room was well equipped, spotlessly clean and very comfortable. The staff took every measure imaginable regarding both ours and their own safety with the current COVID-19 situation. We can highly recommend this beautiful hotel and will look forward to a return visit. Please do not be overly concerned about visiting Grasmere, Ambleside or Keswick. We were highly impressed with all the measures in place to keep all safe.

“Fabulous and will definitely stay again”

Julie, United Kingdom – 2 December 2019

We could not fault anything about our stay, staff very friendly & helpful, room beautiful & very comfy, breakfast room wonderful.

“Exceptional”

Anthony, United Kingdom – 26 December 2019

An amazing little hotel in beautiful Grasmere. Only a five-minute walk to the main village. Staff really friendly and very attentive. Spa facilities immaculate and great value for money! We’ve had dinner and breakfast at the hotel both of which were delicious. We will definitely be returning.

“Lovely hotel, friendly staff, great location”

Stuart, United Kingdom – 1 January 2020

The room was reasonably large, clean and well equipped with a lovely view and sound of the river close by. I can see myself sitting out on the balcony with a drink (or two) in spring and summer. Fabulous.

“Relaxing in a wonderful vacation”

Lydia, United Kingdom – 8 January 2020

We went to the wonderful Rothay Garden Hotel for a Birthday treat and were delighted with our stay – The accommodation, breakfast and dinner, SPA and staff all exceeded our expectations – very friendly and welcoming, We would like to say THANK YOU to Rothay Gardens for the generous complimentary upgrade to a suite as a birthday gift from the Rothay Garden Hotel and staff. THANK YOU it was beautiful. We look forward to returning

“It was a great stay”

Matthew, United Kingdom – 10 January 2020

The beds were so comfy, spa amazing and staff lovely, thanks!

“Relaxing, cosy and chilled”

Reviewed Trip Advisor – July 2019

Fab hotel. Can not fault it. Food excellent and service great. Very small and intimate. Gardens are beautiful. Enjoyed spa after walk to Easdale Tarn. Cold beer in garden to enhance the experience! Room 20 very comfortable and overlooked river. Would highly recommend.

“A little luxury in lovely Grasmere”

Reviewed Trip Advisor – July 2019

From checking to check out, this hotel offers excellent service , very good food, quiet, comfortable view rooms, and the comforts one expects from an upscale hotel. A nice way to end the daily Coast to Coast walk.

“Great hotel with great food”

Reviewed Trip Advisor – June 2019

My wife and I stayed here as part of a gift from my colleagues/friends at work and the hotel was excellent, comfortable spacious room, great restaurant and a small spa. Gardens are lovely and would be great in good weather. Lovely river at the rear. Staff were friendly and helpful and the food was excellent. We had a 4 course meal and the standard of food was excellent.

“Serene”

Reviewed Trip Advisor – May 2019

The hotel and gardens are a serene oasis. The conservatory dining room is an elegant space for dinner . The staff are retained – a good sign from our last visit. Service is good. Small menu well presented, well cooked food from the hotel kitchen – I am pleased that we chose to eat here again. The best hotel in Grasmere.

“Amazing customer service”

Reviewed Trip Advisor – April 2019

We stayed here with a couple of friends and their dog. The hotel is lovely, the staff amazing and the food outstanding. We thoroughly enjoyed the small spa after a long walk during the day. The hotel is small and personal and I would recommend it to any couple wanting a little bit of peace and a relaxing break.

“First class hotel”

Reviewed Trip Advisor – March 2019

My husband and I have been visiting this hotel for over 10 years. The qualities of the fittings in the rooms are of the highest quality with the attention to detail being fantastic and most of the rooms have beautiful views over the hills or the river.

“..as a new pin!”

Reviewed Trip Advisor – Feb 2019

This hotel looks inside as if it is brand new. We all know how hard it is to keep grouting clean but here it sparkles. All of the interior decor is gorgeous and so in keeping with the outside slate build. Only thirty bedrooms so it is quiet and homely.

“Champage night meal and overnight stay”

Reviewed Trip Advisor – Feb 2019

It is not often you stay somewhere and cannot find anything to complain about, however slight. But the only complaint is that we were unable to stay for another night! Comfortable and quiet room, but you do need to switch off the heating/cooling unit at night for total peace.

Offers and Breakaways

Scroll to Top